Saying goodbye

I just kissed goodbye to my 3 year old Adidas Supernova Glide 5 and sent it off to the recycling bin. This is the first time I say goodbye to a running shoe and so, it deserves an eulogy.

Thank you for the miles and memories. I ran in you until your glistening white body turned a murky white, until your patterned soles turn featureless. But I’m proud of you. You were my very first running shoes. I started running in my squash shoes and when I finally got you, I was beyond elated. The first race we endured was Adidas King of The Road 2012 and we finished the 16.8km together. And after that, we went further, training and sweating and aching for the long run. You were also there for me when I attempted my very first half marathon in over 3 hours. But nevertheless, you carried and braced my weight throughout each kilometres, taking me forward till the very end which until this day, I remember crying because I managed to finish the race despite a recovering sprained ankle. Thank you for nurturing my love for running with your comfort which hugged my feet whenever I laced you up for a run. How many miles have we been through? I’m not sure. I did not keep track. But it doesn’t matter. Because you have become the predecessor to whatever running shoes that I will run in and I will never stop running.  Thank you for being my friend but now we part ways. I can only hope for you to be going to a better place. You have served well, you have been great. xoxo

1017571_10151637671573194_1720124530_n

I’m gonna miss you, buddy!

Standard